The largest Emory & Henry residence hall, Wiley Jackson Hall is popular for its access to parking and to the center of campus, placing it in easy walking distance to McGlothlin-Street Hall, a main academic building, as well as Kelly Library and Memorial Chapel. Wiley Jackson is known for its charming common area, which is located on the second floor and surrounded on three sides by rows of tall windows. Elegant study carrels, which are used for both study and quiet conversations, line the remaining wall of this room. On almost any given warm day during the academic year, students will enjoy a picnic or a game of sand volleyball on the green space just outside the north entrance of this residence hall. Each room in Wiley Jackson Hall includes spacious closets, a sink, study desks and space for two beds.
The building, which was built in 1958, carries the name of a successful Roanoke, Va., businessman who provided scholarships for numerous Emory & Henry students. Originally known as the Martha Washington, the building is, even today, called ‘MaWa’ by its residents.