Faculty Awards

According to measurements of student satisfaction conducted by the Student Satisfaction Inventory (SSI), Emory & Henry students rate their college well above the national average for four-year institutions with regard to the quality of the instruction they receive and the effectiveness of their academic advisors. At the same time, student engagement at Emory & Henry far outpaces student engagement at most institutions of higher education, according to surveys conducted by the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE).

Teaching Honors Reflect E&H Dedication to Changing Lives

Emory & Henry professors have been honored repeatedly for their success as teachers. This success is the result in large part to a creative, interdisciplinary teaching environment, a loud and persistent call to service, and a constant challenge to “increase in excellence.”

Emory & Henry’s record for teaching excellence is well documented. During the last 24 years, Emory & Henry has been represented 14 times by the recipients of major state and national awards for teaching. When adjusted for the size of the student population, this record for teaching awards is the best among all Virginia colleges and universities.

The awards include one U.S. Professor of the Year Award given in 1999 to Dr. Stephen Fisher, professor emeritus of political science, by CASE and The Carnegie Foundation. The honors also include six other Virginia Professor of the Year Awards given by CASE to Dr. Jim Duchamp of the Chemistry Department in 2011, Roper in 2005, Keller in 2003, Dr. Ed Damer of the Philosophy Department in 1989, Dr. Kathleen Chamberlain of the English Department in 1993, and Dr. David Copeland, a former E&H professor who taught in the Mass Communications Department.

Five Emory & Henry professors have been the recipients of a second state-wide award, the Outstanding Faculty Award, which is given annually by the State Council for Higher Education in Virginia (SCHEV). E&H recipients of this award include Dr. Samir Saliba, political science, 1994; Fisher, 1996; Dr. John Lang, English, 1999; Duchamp, 2009; and Keller, 2010.

In 1997, Saliba was honored as Professor of the Year by the National Higher Education Foundation of the United Methodist Church. In 2012, Dr. Michael Lane, an E&H professor of chemistry, became the fifth Virginia professor to be honored with the Hiter H. Harris Award for Excellence in Teaching, which is given by the Virginia Foundation of Independent Colleges.

The many teaching honors reflect Emory & Henry’s intense emphasis on an academic environment dedicated to transforming lives, according to E&H President Rosalind Reichard. “Winning just a few of these awards would be an outstanding achievement, but to win consistently over the years and with professors representing a broad range of disciplines speaks to the fundamental excellence of this institution and the strength and relevance of its mission,” the president said.