Leidig Lectureship

Celebrating Poetry at Emory & Henry College

Photo of Marilyn Kallet by Norman GriffithMARILYN KALLET 

April 4, 7:30-8:30 PM

Van Dyke BOV Lounge

 Leidig Keynote Poet Marilyn Kallet will share some poems of witness from her works. Her love poetry will offer balance with the more difficult and tragic topics. Kallet is Nancy Moore Goslee Professor of English at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville and author of 17 books that include her own poems as well as translations from the French. A public reception and booksigning will follow. The event is presented under the auspices of the Leidig Poetry Lectureship, which is facilitated by the Department of English. Lyceum Credit

 Before the reading, 2-3:30 PM in Calliopean Room of Byars Hall, Kallet will address the connection between poetry, journalism, and historical research, and poetry’s responsibility to be accurate when communicating history, in an interactive lectures-workshop with students. The group will do some writing together. Students of all majors are welcome to participate. Contact Dr. Mitchell at fmitchell@ehc.edu for more information.

April 17, 7:30-8:30 PM, Van Dyke BOV Lounge
The 2018 winner of the Leidig Poetry Prize will present a reading of the winning poem, along with a few others, before being joined by members of the Frostiana Poetry Society for an evening of poetry.  Lyceum Credit

Leidig’s Legacy

Daniel G. Leidig was born in Rutherford County, Tennessee, the son of the Rev. D. G. and Arta Evans Leidig. He received a B.A. degree in English from Emory & Henry College, an M.A. from Vanderbilt University, and a PhD from Florida State University. Dr. Leidig taught for 30 years at his Alma Mater, where he served variously as Stuart Professor of English, Dean of the College and acting President.  A lectureship in poetry was established by Emory & Henry College in his name in 1996 by Helen Power, former librarian at Emory & Henry College (1943-1971), and Harriette Mooring Horner, an honor graduate of the Class of 1990 at Emory & Henry College.  In appreciation of Dr. Daniel G. Leidig, Jr., and in recognition of his love of poetry, the Leidig Lectureship in Poetry sponsors events to introduce students to the world of poetry.  The purpose of the Lectureship is to encourage the study, writing, reading and sharing of poetry as vital human undertakings. In addition, the Leidig Poetry Prize is awarded each spring to an Emory & Henry student after an open competition.

Visiting Poets

1997 Charles Wright
1999 Kelly Cherry
2000 Fred Chappel
2001 Marilyn Nelson
2002 Ellen Bryant Voigt
2003 Andrew Hudgins
2004 Susan Ludvigson
2005 Mark Doty
2006 Linda Pastan
2008 Ted Kooser
2009 Margaret Gibson
2010 Naomi Shihab Nye
2011 Robert Morgan
2012 Martin Espada
2013 Terri Kirby Erickson
2014 Kwame Dawes
2015 Joseph Bathanti
2016 Anya Silver
2017 Nikky Finney


Each year, students from across campus, enrolled in any major, submit poems for consideration for the prestigious Leidig Poetry Prize, with the visiting poet selecting a winner who receives an honorarium, a broadside printing, and a special reading at an event on campus. Students can learn more about a call for poems from announcements circulated in Scoop.

Past Winners of the Leidig Poetry Prize
2018 TBA
2017 Rachel Tucker
2016 Nina Kerr
2015 Jessie Leniski
2014 Mary Pruitt
2013 Jessica Hughes
2012 Lauren Trotman
2011 Kyle Dalton
2010 David Gillette
2009 Caroline Lawless
2008 Sally Smith
2006 Maggie Hess
2005 Kathryn M. Bondurant
2004 Patrick Carmody
2003 Kathryn M. Bondurant
2003 Mark Merz
2001 Mark Merz
2000 Jennifer Stewart