The Daniel Leidig Lectureship in Poetry

Celebrating Poetry at Emory & Henry

Simon Armitage — Spring 2024 Lecturer

Simon Armitage One of England’s best-loved authors and current U.K. Poet Laureate, Simon Armitage, is an award-winning poet, author, songwriter, playwright and translator. His numerous collections of poetry include The Unaccompanied (August 2017), Paper Aeroplane: Poems 1989-2014, Seeing Stars, Tyrannosaurus Rex Versus the Corduroy Kid and The Shout. In addition, he has published new verse translations of The Odyssey, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight and The Death of King Arthur. His nonfiction book, Walking Home: A Poet’s Journey, documents his 265-mile walking tour across England, working as a “modern troubadour.” In 2010, for services to poetry, Armitage was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) at Buckingham Palace. His other numerous awards in the UK include the Gregory Award and a Forward Prize; in the US, he has received a major Lannan Award and was twice shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Armitage is the current Professor of Poetry at Oxford University (2015-2019) and is a Professor of Poetry at the University of Sheffield.

Simon Armitage will deliver a lecture on the Emory & Henry campus on Tuesday, April 2, 2024, at 5:30 p.m. and a poetry reading on Wednesday, April 3 at 7 p.m. at the McGlothlin Center for the Arts. 

Visiting Poets

1997 Charles Wright
1999 Kelly Cherry
2000 Fred Chappel
2001 Marilyn Nelson
2002 Ellen Bryant Voigt
2003 Andrew Hudgins
2004 Susan Ludvigson
2005 Mark Doty
2006 Linda Pastan
2008 Ted Kooser
2009 Margaret Gibson
2010 Naomi Shihab Nye
2011 Robert Morgan
2012 Martin Espada
2013 Terri Kirby Erickson
2014 Kwame Dawes
2015 Joseph Bathanti
2016 Anya Silver
2017 Nikky Finney
2018 Marilyn Kallet
2023 Carl Phillips
2024 Simon Armitage

Leidig Poetry Prize

2020 Toni Jo Zeigler
2018 Christian Tripp
2017 Rachel Tucker
2016 Nina Kerr
2015 Jessie Leniski
2014 Mary Ruth Pruitt
2013 Jessica Hughes
2012 Lauren Trotman
2011 Kylie Dalton
2010 David Gillette
2009 Caroline Lawless
2008 Sally Smith
2006 Maggie Hess
2005 Kathryn M. Bondurant
2004 Patrick Carmody
2003 Kathryn M. Bondurant
2003 Mark Merz
2001 Mark Merz
2000 Jennifer Stewart

History of the Leidig Lectureship

Daniel G. Leidig was born in Rutherford County, Tennessee, the son of the Rev. D. G. and Arta Evans Leidig. He received a B.A. degree in English from Emory & Henry, an M.A. from Vanderbilt University, and a Ph.D. from Florida State University. Dr. Leidig taught for 30 years at his Alma Mater, where he served variously as Stuart Professor of English, Dean of the College and acting President.

A lectureship in poetry was established by Emory & Henry in his name in 1996 by Helen Power, former librarian at Emory & Henry (1943-1971), and Harriette Mooring Horner, an honor graduate of the Class of 1990 at Emory & Henry.  In appreciation of Dr. Daniel G. Leidig, Jr., and in recognition of his love of poetry, the Leidig Lectureship in Poetry sponsors events during National Poetry Month to introduce students to the world of poetry. 

The purpose of the Lectureship named in Dr. Leidig’s honor is to encourage the study, writing, reading and sharing of poetry as vital human undertakings. In addition, the Leidig Poetry Prize is awarded each spring to an Emory & Henry student after an open competition.