Student Organization


The purpose of the Emory & Henry College Student Occupational Therapy Association is to encourage professional development, to enhance the educational experience for students within the MOT program, provide service and outreach within the community, work as a bridge between faculty, surrounding communities, and students, promote health and wellness within the area, and offer students an opportunity to engage in professional activities such as attending local, regional, and national conferences and workshops.

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Lynne Umbarger 

SOTA Officers 2018-2019
President:              Lizzy Wilkinson
Vice Pres:              Avery Vice
Secretary:              Caylin Graham
Treasurer:              Jeff Arnold
Historian:             Morganne Troutman
Service Chair:       Lauren Nance
Fundraising Ch:   Kelly Leonhardt
Intramural Chair: Brittany Saetre
Social Chair:         Katlyn Connor
SOTA Officers 2019-2020
President:              Jill Jachino
Vice Pres:              Abby Mulliken
Secretary:              Megan Hall
Treasurer:              Thomas Tang
Historian:              Sarah Yong
Service Chairs:      Rachel Gallagher
                              Natalie Messenger
Intramural Chair: Bobby Garland
Social Chair:         Stephanie Tillson


  • Children’s Summer Camp

    First year OT students led activities each day for 2 weeks for children’s summer camp in Marion, VA. Keep reading
  • MOT Class of 2019 Participates in Special Games

    MOT Class of 2019 participated at the Smyth County Special Games on 10/3/18. The Special Games is an annual event organized by Smyth County Schools for students with special needs. This year the students planned and managed sensory-based stations. The purpose was to facilitate increased engagement and participation for all participants and to provide a sensory retreat for those at risk for becoming overwhelmed in new environments. We were inundated with positive feedback following the event and plan to continue this collaboration in future years. Keep reading
  • Landreth Earns Virginia Occupational Therapy Association Honors

    Kelli Landreth, MOT ’18, wins a $1000 scholarship from VOTA for her excellent involvement in the profession, academic performance, and community engagement. Keep reading