E&H Claims Advertising Awards

Emory & Henry College staff and students claimed nine advertising and marketing awards at the 10th annual American Advertising Federation (AAF) of Southwest Virginia American Advertising Awards on Saturday, March 5 at K-VA-T Corporate Support Center in Abingdon, Va.
Posted April 01, 2022

Jamie Smyth, executive director of institutional communications, won a silver Addy for design of the McGlothlin Center for the Arts season brochure; Director of Marketing Leah Prater won for an infographic piece and an outdoor program video.

Students David Eldridge of Knoxville, Tenn., ’22; Alexa Shockley of Pearisburg, Va., ’23; Emmett Donovan of Boonesville, N.C. ’23; Veronica Garrou of Greensboro, N.C., ’23; Destiny Fulton of Abingdon, Va. ’22; Kanin Clark of Abingdon, Va. ’22; Logan Greear of Coeburn, Va.; ’23 and Tyler Easley of Gladys, Va., ’23 won in the student categories during the award ceremony.

Also in the category of Television Advertising, Fulton, Clark, Garrou, Greear and Easley were awarded for their work on “Friendly Navigator - Lung Cancer,” a television commercial. The commercial would not have been possible without the University of Virginia Cancer Center’s Office of Community Outreach staff curating the scripted scenes captured by the students. υ

Related Content

  • Larmore Poetry Series

    The featured speaker for the Catherine Burns Larmore Poetry Series was Safiya Sinclair. She was born and raised in Montego Bay, Jamaica and is the author of the memoir How to Say Babylon, forthcoming from Simon & Schuster. She is also the author of the poetry collection Cannibal, winner of a Whiting Writers’ Award, the American Academy of Arts and Letters’ Metcalf Award, the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Poetry, the Phillis Wheatley Book Award, and the Prairie Schooner Book Prize in Poetry. Cannibal was selected as one of the American Library Association’s Notable Books of the Year and was a finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award, as well as being longlisted for the PEN Open Book Award and the Dylan Thomas Prize.
    Read More